October 16: A typical day

I’ve been in China for quite a while, and my work schedule is finally regular. I have my own classes and I’m almost (in like 3 more days) finished with my probation period. So, I thought I would share with you all what my typical day looks like!

Mondays, Tuesdays, and Fridays:
I wake up late in the mornings (think like 10am) and get ready for my day. Keep in mind that my work schedule is not a typical 9-5 workday (aka I’m not sleeping in too much everyday). After getting ready, I like to bike to one of my favorite coffee shops. It’s this cute little bookstore/coffee shop and I love doing my Chinese books there. (I’m currently learning to speak Chinese, since I really don’t speak any. I found a cool workbook/textbook set and it’s been helping a lot!) After about an hour to an hour and a half of studying, I take the metro to my school. It’s a long commute, so I like to read or listen to music on my way. I switch metro trains once if I come from studying Chinese, but if I take the metro near my apartment, I have to switch twice. After a 30-45 minute metro ride (including the time to switch trains), I arrive at my stop. My school is a 20 minute walk from the station, so I usually bike. My work day officially starts at 2pm (or 1pm on Fridays). The first couple of hours usually consist of me planning lessons, eating lunch, hanging out with my coworkers, etc. Then, depending on the day, I’ll have up to 3 classes. Classes start at 4:45pm and most of my weekday classes are 1 hour each. I teach primarily little kids on weekdays (the oldest kids I teach during the week are 5 years old). Finally, at 8:30pm, it’s time to go home! I bike/take the metro back to my apartment and usually end up eating dinner sometime around 10pm. Then I hang out with my roommates until I go to sleep.

IMG_9501
The coffee shop I practice my Chinese in (featuring my Chinese books)!

Wednesdays and Thursdays are my Off-Days, so those are pretty unpredictable, but I usually sleep in and get my household stuff done. I also try to do something fun!

IMG_9470
In my work uniform, playing 2 truths and 1 lie in a meeting!

Saturdays and Sundays: Weekends are sort of crazy since kids don’t have school. I get to my school around 8:15am and spend anywhere from 4-7 hours teaching. They’re crazy and busy, but they’re also a lot of fun (especially since my weekend kids are great). I also have a wider age range in my classes on the weekends. On Saturday mornings, I teach a class of 4 year olds and a class of 12-13 year olds in a row. It’s sort of crazy, but I really like it! Then, at 6pm, it’s time to go home.

There’s a really rough schedule of my week! Hopefully you enjoyed learning about what I do everyday!

I’ll be writing more very soon!
Corinn

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply